The Porcine Prerogative: A Perilous Precedent

While not falling within the CNS arena per se, the consequences of Gilead Pharma‘s decision to platinum-price Sovaldi for Hepatitis C, to the tune of $84,000 per three month treatment cycle in the US, eventually will permeate health care in general. The  pricing seems born of Orphan Disorder modeling, for which tolerance in the US has been expansive, given the small sizes of these populations and the easily-discernible outlines of the scenario for sympathy; pediatric patients otherwise doomed before they ever really get to begin. But Sovaldi is applicable to far larger populations, given that 2% of the US population is estimated to have a Hepatitis C infection. Some estimates of the potential US market, were all HCV-infected patients to be treated, are over $200 billion. That is not going to happen, but where one draws the line in terms of eligibility–e.g. cirrhosis?–invokes an inevitable debate between reactive and proactive intervention models. The most extreme framework for reactive treatment would require that later-stage damage has been done and symptomatically apparent, where transplants might otherwise be part of the conversation. But that would be treatment that arrives too late: True pharmacoeconomic benefit would come from preventing large segments of the HCV population from progressing to serious–and very expensive–stages of hepatic dysfunction. But proactive therapy, intervening before that level of damage has been done, could be expanded to a scale of utilization and cost that would temporarily delight Gilead management and shareholders, and would–and should–horrify all other onlookers.

In fact, there won’t be any true onlookers here; this is the kind of gluttony for which everyone will pay, and which could present the tipping point on the other side of which awaits governmentally-governed pricing constraints, the kind of price-controls that the US has avoided, even as the rest of the developed and semi-developed world has embraced them. The topic of why the EU, for example, has been allowed to shift the true costs of drug development onto the United States by sharply limiting its reimbursement for drugs is a topic unto itself, but sets the context: At some point the cultural antipathy to top-down regulation of drug pricing will shift as the US realizes that it can no longer afford to be the World’s Deepest Pockets for Pharma.

The situation is also one where it will be relatively easy to manipulate the finite empathy of the American public, because rather than serving a population of innocent children, it is a simple public relations maneuver to paint the Hepatitis C population–even if unfairly–as being largely characterized by intravenous drug users whose illness can be traced to their own conduct, and a group more often covered by governmental insurance (e.g. Medicaid).

Once the precedent has been established, it cannot be undone. And it will eventually bring us to the biggest quandary of them all–Who will receive, and who will pay for–the first drugs to slow disease progression in Alzheimer’s? With over five million Alzheimer’s patients in the US, and many more who are on the cusp with MCI or ARCD, the potential scale of that market dwarfs even Hepatitis C. There, the additional socioeconomic argument will come into play regarding the costs of care for those approaching the end of their lives, and the degree to which younger generations should and can go into hock for them.

Any precedents set regarding access and price-controls will reverberate well beyond HepC and Sovaldi, yielding seismic changes in attitudes in the United States, as economic necessity begins to erode the American resistance to governmentally imposed restrictions–particularly when it comes to federally-funded insurance programs. The eventual advent of competing drugs might–at least in theory–set up price-competition that might attenuate the impact, but we would not count on it. By setting this bar so high, Gilead is hoping that the pricing game will be played at this stratospheric level, like MS, with all relevant entrants pushing the cost envelope to some degree. This may not be a crime, but it is also not victimless.  The old saying ends with, ‘Pigs get slaughtered,’ and in their greed, Gilead not only did not consider the damage that they could bring upon themselves, they almost certainly did not envision the likelihood that they could bring plenty of company with them down the kill-chute.

 

 

This entry was posted in Big Pharma and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Porcine Prerogative: A Perilous Precedent

  1. hello!,I like your writing very a lot! proportion we keep in touch extra approximately your article on AOL?
    I require an expert on this space to resolve my problem.
    Maybe that’s you! Taking a look ahead to peer you.

  2. Joyce says:

    I am actually grateful to the owner of this web site who has
    shared this enormous post at here.

  3. Hi there colleagues, pleasant post and nice arguments commented here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  4. tlkzs.com says:

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web site daily, this website
    is really nice and the people are actually sharing pleasant thoughts.

  5. Can you tell us more about this? I’d like to find out
    some additional information.

  6. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful
    information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  7. After exploring a handful of the articles on your website, I truly appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Take a look at my web site as well and tell me how you
    feel.

  8. Lavern says:

    It’s amazing to go to see this site and reading the views of
    all mates on the topic of this piece of writing, while I am
    also zealous of getting know-how.

  9. Kellie says:

    What i don’t understood is in reality how you are no longer actually much more smartly-appreciated than you may be now.
    You are very intelligent. You realize therefore significantly relating to this subject,
    produced me for my part consider it from numerous varied angles.
    Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it
    is one thing to do with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs great.

    Always handle it up!

  10. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts
    and I am waiting for your further write ups thanks once again.

  11. Stan says:

    Nice weblog right here! Additionally your site lots
    up fast! What host are you the use of? Can I am getting your associate link on your host?
    I want my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

  12. Gita says:

    Useful info. Fortunate me I found your website by chance, and I’m stunned why
    this accident did not came about in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  13. Lakesha says:

    Hey There. I found your weblog the use of msn. This is an extremely
    well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark
    it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  14. Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site,
    how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a applicable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vivid clear idea

  15. Mariel says:

    I’ll right away grab your rss as I can’t find your email subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly let me recognise in order that I
    may subscribe. Thanks.

  16. Norman says:

    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things
    out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m
    not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions?

    Appreciate it

  17. It’s actually a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that
    you simply shared this useful information with us.

    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  18. Beth says:

    I feel this is among the most important information for
    me. And i’m glad studying your article. But wanna remark on few general
    things, The website taste is great, the articles is in reality excellent :
    D. Just right process, cheers

  19. Earle says:

    It’s going to be end of mine day, however before finish I am reading this great post to improve my knowledge.

  20. Hurrah! At last I got a weblog from where I be able to truly
    take valuable facts regarding my study and knowledge.

  21. Rich says:

    great issues altogether, you just gained a new reader. What could you suggest in regards to your put up that you just made a few days in the past?
    Any sure?

  22. Willard says:

    hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical issues
    using this website, since I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could
    damage your quality score if advertising and
    marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective intriguing content.
    Make sure you update this again very soon.

  23. It is not my first time to visit this site, i am visiting this web page dailly
    and take nice facts from here everyday.

  24. Reyna says:

    Link exchange is nothing else but it is just placing the other person’s webpage link on your page at suitable place and other person will also
    do same in favor of you.

Leave a Reply

